bee careful

beecareful-ausgangslage

Initial situation

For more than 100 years, at Schwartauer Werke everything revolves around fruits. As the leading producer of jam in Germany, the company takes responsibility for the entire value chain – from field to glass. Against this background, Schwartauer Werke is concerned about the increase of bee mortality in recent years. The bee, which is endangered by several external factors, is not only extremely important for mankind but also for the company’s core business. As the variety of fruit around the world is only possible thanks to the tireless pollination work of bees, Schwartauer Werke launched bee careful, because: without bees no fruit – without fruit no jam. The initiative promotes bee health, education and bee keeping.

beecareful-aufgabe

Assignment

In 2015 we developed sustainable but also low budget communication measures to support the initiative bee careful, aiming at raising as much awareness for the threat to health of bees as possible. A further goal was the activation of people to take own measurements to help the bees. The challenge was to put the little known issue of bee mortality on the consumers´ personal agenda. To do so, we developed the campaign #Bienenhelfer (#beehelper), which comprised online and PoS-communication.

beecareful-umsetzung

Idea and implementation (1/2)

The slogan „Du brauchst DIE BIENE braucht Dich!“ (“You need THE BEE needs you!”) gave the campaign a striking and involving character. #Bienenhelfer represented the connecting element between all communication measures. On the campaign microsite we transferred the complex topic into an informative animated video. An entertaining questionnaire (Yellow-Thumb-Test) offered users the possibility to discover which type of bee helper they are: potential bee keeper, garden friend or bee ambassador. Furthermore, users were given the chance to apply for one of 100 beekeeper trainings and to get useful tips on how to contribute to the protection of bees.

beecareful-idee

Idea and implementation (2/2)

The far-reaching blogger Clara Moring (@tastesheriff) was invited to take part in a bee keeper training and to share her experiences in an exclusive series of articles on her blog as well as on bee-careful.de. Acting as a role model and giving valuable insights in the duties of a bee keeper, she motivated her readers to become bee helpers themselves. Additional bloggers supported the campaign and promoted a complementing photo contest on Instagram. The prize for the winning photo was the transformation of the garden into a real sea of bee friendly flowers.

beecareful-ergebnis

Outcome

Via microsite, social media and blogger relations we reached 1.2 millions users – not including the millions of further contacts reached by the product Schwartau Samt “Bienenhelfer” at the PoS. Furthermore, we saw a significant increase in the website visits of bee-careful.de. All together, more than 1,100 people applied for beekeeper trainings. All in all, Schwartauer Werke have created a sustainable impact on bee health with the #Bienenhelfer campaign and the initiative bee careful.

The campaign “Bienenhelfer” was honoured with the award “Deutscher Preis für Onlinekommunikation” (“German Award for Online Communication”) in the category corporate responsibility.

bee careful

beecareful-ausgangslage

Ausgangslage

Bei den Schwartauer Werken dreht sich seit Beginn der Unternehmensgeschichte alles um die Frucht. In seiner Wertschöpfungskette übernimmt der führende Hersteller von Konfitüren und Müsliriegeln in allen Bereichen Verantwortung – vom Feld bis ins Glas. Diese Verantwortung sollte 2014 auf den Ursprung der Früchte ausgedehnt werden. Hier spielt die Biene eine wichtige Rolle: Das fleißige Tier leistet einen unschätzbaren Beitrag zum Fruchtertrag, ist jedoch weltweit durch unterschiedliche Faktoren bedroht. Die gemeinsam mit den Schwartauer Werken entwickelte Initiative bee careful nimmt diese bedrohliche Entwicklung ernst und schafft gezielt Maßnahmen zur Förderung der Bienengesundheit. Denn: ohne Bienen keine Früchte – ohne Früchte keine Konfitüre.

beecareful-aufgabe

Aufgabe

Im Jahr 2015 sollten die Ziele der Initiative bee careful nachhaltig kommunikativ unterstützt werden. Mit geringem Budget galt es, möglichst viele Menschen über die Biene zu informieren und darüber hinaus, die erreichten Menschen zu einem direkten Beitrag zur Bienengesundheit zu aktivieren. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, ein bislang wenig beachtetes Thema auf die persönliche Agenda der Zielgruppe zu heben. segmenta entwickelte zu diesem Zweck die Kampagne #Bienenhelfer, die Online- und PoS-Kommunikation inhaltlich, zeitlich und visuell nahtlos integrierte.

biene-auf-stempel

Idee und Umsetzung (1/2)

Mit dem Motto „Du brauchst DIE BIENE braucht dich“ gaben wir der Kampagne einen involvierenden Charakter und etablierten mit dem Bienenhelfer ein verbindendes Element über alle Maßnahmen. Auf der zentralen Kampagnen-Microsite übersetzten wir das komplexe Thema in ein informatives Animationsvideo. Mit dem unterhaltsamen „Gelbe-Daumen-Test“ fanden die Besucher zudem heraus, welcher Bienenhelfer-Typ sie sind: potentieller Imker, Gartenfreund oder Bienenbotschafter. Überzeugte konnten sich für eine der 100 Imkerausbildungen bewerben und direkt alltagstaugliche Tipps zum Bienenschutz erhalten.

imkerin

Idee und Umsetzung (2/2)

Was es bedeutet, eine Imkerausbildung zu absolvieren, zeigte die von bee careful unterstützte Clara Moring (@tastesheriff). Die reichweitenstarke Bloggerin schrieb in einer Exklusiv-Serie auf ihrem Blog und in einer Kolumne auf bee-careful.de über ihre Erlebnisse an der Imkerschule und motivierte ihre Leser, auch zu Bienenhelfern zu werden. Weitere Blogger unterstützten die Kampagne und pushten einen Instagram-Contest, bei dem die Fotografin des Gewinnerbilds eine bienenfreundliche Umgestaltung ihres Gartens gewinnen konnte.

bee-careful-website

Ergebnis

Über die eigene Plattform, Social Media und per Blogger-Kooperationen konnten über 1,2 Millionen direkte Kontakte hergestellt werden - die millionenfachen weiteren Kontakte mit dem Produkt Schwartau Samt „Bienenhelfer" am PoS sind hier noch nicht berücksichtigt. Darüber hinaus wurde der Traffic auf bee-careful.de deutlich gesteigert und insgesamt bewarben sich 1.100 Menschen für eine Ausbildung zum Nachwuchsimker.

Mit der Kampagne „Bienenhelfer“ und der Initiative bee careful nehmen die Schwartauer Werke damit nachhaltigen Einfluss auf die Bienengesundheit.